My animal of the week this is week is the Wallaby!!!

The wallaby is a medium sized mammal, closely related to the kangaroo who is bigger than the wallaby. 

Wallabies are herbivores ( eats plants only.) Their diet consists of a wide range of grasses, vegtables and leaves.  Wallabies cover vast distances for food and water, which is often scarce in their environment.

They have powerful hind legs for jumping and fighting and a sturdy tail for balance. Wallabies are widely distributed across Australia, particularly in more remote, heavily timbered, or rugged areas, and are also found in the island of New Guinia.

A wallaby can leap 4 feet in the air but can not climb trees. On hot days they spend most of their time in the shade and on cooler days they spend their time eating.  Wallabies communicate a warning to others by thumping once or twice on the ground with their feet. Female wallabies produce two different kinds of milk at the same time, one for her baby and another, richer blend, for her older offspring.

They live for 7 years in the wild and 14-20 in captivity.

 TTFN, Lily 🙂


The Ugliest Animal in the World!

This is the Blobfish


The Blobfish inhabits the deep waters off the coasts of Australia and Tasmania. Due to the inaccessibility of its habitat, it’s rarely seen by humans. Blobfish are found at depths where the pressure is several dozens of times higher than at sea level. To remain buoyant, the flesh of the Blobfish is primarily a gelatinous mass with a density slightly less than water; which allows the fish to float above the sea floor without expending energy on swimming. The relative lack of muscle is not a disadvantage as it primarily swallows edible matter that floats by in front it.